A Day in the Life: The Simplest Things

Glühbirne

Oh, how I have missed
the simplest things, rising
from chairs without help.

Climbing basement stairs
carrying laundry baskets,
without holding on.

Changing a light bulb
picking up grocery bags
weeding the garden.

Oh, how I have missed
those things I took for granted,
swallowing, walking.

In the blink of an eye,
a medical miracle
brings back what I’ve missed.

It’s not supposed to
work this way, but you are some
strange anomaly.

Feeling like myself
again, how long will it last?
One day at a time.

The universe does
work, one way or another.
Never give up hope.
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

For many months I’ve dealt with some mysterious disease that looks like myasthenia gravis, but does not show up in any blood test or diagnostic procedure, other than a single fiber EMG. Having gotten no relief, I was quite surprised to find my symptoms in remission following a kenalog injection for the aggressive osteoarthritis that is claiming my joints. Both the arthritis and the MG abated. How long will it last? I have no idea, but it has been wonderful to feel like my old self, if even for just the last two weeks. I could wake up tomorrow, unable to hold up my head or climb the stairs, but for today, I’m so thankful to be able to do all of those little things I’ve been unable to do for nearly five years. Except for the nerve pain in my foot that makes me want to cut the damned thing off, I’ve been feeling great! I’m just taking it one day at a time.

About Peace Penguin

Just a penguin on the path to choosing peace.
Aside | This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Life Goes On, myasthenia gravis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

