A Day in the Life: Baking as Distraction

I’m tired. Tired of feeling like a science experiment as I work to develop a balance between all the medicines I take daily just to be able to function. I’m tired of waking up each day with some part of me hurting, never feeling truly well. So when I get to feeling this way, I distract myself by cooking or baking. The overabundance of zucchini on my kitchen counter needs to disappear. I baked regular and chocolate zucchini bread last week. Today, I decided to experiment a bit and baked double chocolate, gluten-free, zucchini bread. This little loaf packs an enormous punch of awesome! The recipe is below.

2ble choc zucchini bread 2I found a basic recipe for this little gem on line. The truth is, I seem constitutionally unable to simply follow a recipe without adulterating it and giving it my own distinctive taste. For chocolate lovers, this one is divine!

Double chocolate, gluten-free zucchini bread

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups of almond flour
2 tbs. coconut flour
3 tbs. Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 tsp. imitation rum extract
1 tsp. pure almond extract
1 cup of grated zucchini
1/3 cup raw wildflower honey (or just raw honey)
3 eggs, whisked
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup gluten free semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350-degrees F.
Grease or spray loaf pan* with Pam. (I used three 5” x 2.5” x 2″ foil pans.)
With a hand grater or food processor, shred 1 cup of zucchini. (One medium-sized zucchini makes about one cup.)
Important: Place shredded zucchini in a sieve and squeeze out as much extra liquid as possible before adding to recipe.
In a medium bowl, first mix together all of the above dry ingredients.
In a separate small bowl, mix together all the above wet ingredients.
Slowly mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients’ bowl.
Fold in zucchini and chocolate chips.
Pour mixture into greased loaf pans*. See above.
Bake at 350-degrees F for 35-40 minutes (loaves are done when toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean).
Make sure to let loaves cool before turning out of pans or trying to slice, otherwise they will be too gooey and will make a big mess.

About Peace Penguin

Just a penguin on the path to choosing peace.
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Experiments, Kitchen adventures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

