A Day in the Life: Kitchen Adventures—Tomato Marmalade Chicken

OK, so I know tomato marmalade chicken maybe doesn’t sound so great, but it was truly delicious. This past Friday, I catered a dinner for some friends. These friends have invited me to dinner once a month for ages. I have no room to host a nice dinner in my crackerbox, so I offered to cook for them at their house one night. There were no dietary restrictions, but I wanted to keep it simple enough that everything would come out at the same time and tasting delicious.

Here’s the menu:

Homemade chicken soup with matzoh balls
Homemade chopped liver served with toasted, mini-baguette slices
Tomato marmalade chicken thighs and tenders
Tri-color couscous with apricots, cranberries, coriander and sliced almonds
Steamed zucchini and yellow summer squash with olive oil and salt and pepper
Steve’s Asian slaw
Rum balls with tiramisu gelato for the finishing touch.

Now, tomato marmalade isn’t probably something most people happen to have on hand, but since my friend grows many too many tomatoes to eat each summer, she has very graciously shared her tomato marmalade creation with me each year. It makes a dandy sauce for chicken, as I discovered when I made dinner. I’m a kind of seat-of-the-pants cook—I make it up from what I have available as I go. I never remembered to take a picture of the finished product, but here’s a photo of the delicious tomato marmalade!

tomato marmalade

I’m not going to bombard you with recipes today, but I’d like to share the chicken recipe, because it tasted fabulous. Since some people prefer dark meat and others light, I cooked both chicken tenders and boneless, skinless thighs. The tenders cook more quickly than whole breasts, and I needed both light and dark meat to finish cooking at the same time.

Marinade ingredients:

1/3 C olive oil
1/4 C low sodium soy sauce
2 T apple cider vinegar
3 T pure honey
3 T minced garlic
1/2 C chopped chives
1 t chili powder
1 t ground coriander

Sauce ingredients:

1/4 C chicken broth
2 T olive oil
1/4 C red wine (I used Merlot, but whatever red table wine you have on hand will do)
5 dried apricots, sliced into 1/4″ strips
8 oz jar of tomato marmalade (orange marmalade works, too)
1/4 C sun-dried tomatoes cut into julienne strips

Instructions:

Mix all marinade ingredients together in a small bowl. Place chicken in Ziplock bag and pour marinade into bag. Make sure chicken is all covered, then close up bag, removing as much air as possible before sealing. Let marinade in refrigerator four to five hours.

Heat a 10-12″ skillet and add olive oil. When hot, add chicken and a couple of tablespoons of marinade. Brown chicken on both sides, then add chicken broth, red wine, apricots, sun-dried tomatoes and tomato marmalade. Season with a sprinkle of coriander and finely ground black pepper, if desired. Cook on medium low, simmering until chicken is just cooked through, about 15 minutes.

I served the chicken with sauce over the couscous, but it would be delicious over rice or pasta, too. The steamed squash had a light seasoning of olive oil and black pepper with a dash of salt, since I wanted a simple taste as a foil for all the other more complex flavors.

Dinner was a success, based on their oohs and ahs, and there were plenty of leftovers for another meal or two.

I’ll post the other recipes as I have time. Hope you enjoy!

About Peace Penguin

Just a penguin on the path to choosing peace.
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Experiments, Kitchen adventures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day in the Life: Kitchen Adventures—Tomato Marmalade Chicken

  1. Ema Jones says:

    Can I use maple syrup instead of honey?

  2. This sounds like a really unique flavor profile- I like the idea of marmalade in there! If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post at the a blog link up I’m hosting today. All you need is a URL of a post you’d like to contribute. It’s a great little circle of bloggers!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

Leave a Reply

