A Day in the Life: An Abundance of Zucchini

curried zucchini soup

Curried Zucchini Soup. Serve hot or cold.

As some of my friends know, I love to cook and I love to experiment, adapt recipes from others, and make my own. When my dear friend, Mary, brought me an abundance of zucchini, I pondered how I’d use it all. I’m not much for baked goods, but I do love my veggies.

I saw a zucchini soup recipe online, so I figured I’d take a crack at it…sort of. When it was finished, I tasted it and found it disappointingly bland. I knew I had to do something to “fix” it. Because I love curry, I figured I’d add some curry, and then a little coriander, a dash of oregano, a little cayenne, some fresh basil…. By the time I was done, it actually was pretty good, but I decided that when making the next batch, I’d add a few things to the basic recipe.

Herewith is my recipe. This creamy soup has no cream or dairy products, but is thick and rich tasting, and deliciously satisfying served either hot or cold.

Curried Zucchini Soup

Ingredients
6 C zucchini in small cubes
1/2 C diced sweet yellow onion
2 tbsp minced garlic
1/2 C chopped celery
2 small carrots, peeled and chopped
1 small cubano pepper, chopped (or 1/2 other sweet pepper)
4 C chicken stock (I used homemade)
1/4 C olive oil
2 tsp curry powder
2 tsp ground coriander
Cayenne pepper to taste (optional)
2 bay leaves
1/2 C basil (packed into measuring cup)
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions
1.  In a 5-quart Dutch oven, saute the garlic and onion in the olive oil on medium heat
until translucent, about five minutes.
2.  Add zucchini, carrots, celery, pepper and 1 cup of stock.
3.  Cover and cook for about 3-5 minutes.
4.  Add the rest of the stock. Cook just until zucchini mashes against the side of the pot.
5.  Add fresh basil leaves and stir in.
6.  In a blender, carefully puree the mixture, making sure to hold the top down.
I did mine in three batches.
7.  Pour back into pot, add bay leaves, curry powder, ground coriander, cayenne (optional) and salt and pepper to taste. Let simmer for another 20 minutes for flavors to blend.

Serve hot, or refrigerate and serve cold. Garnish with a bit of chopped basil.


About Peace Penguin

Just a penguin on the path to choosing peace.
This entry was posted in A Day in the Life, Experiments, inspiration, Kitchen adventures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

